upcoming grant deadline: 03/01/2019

upcoming grant deadline: 03/01/2019

back to news

Leeway Foundation Awards 10 Philadelphia Artists with $15,000 Transformation Award

The 2016 awards were presented to a diverse group of artists and cultural producers who have worked for five years or more to further social change in the Delaware Region

PHILADELPHIA – Today, the Leeway Foundation announced $150,000 in grants to 10 women and trans* artists and cultural producers in Greater Philadelphia, acknowledging their commitment to art and social justice that impacts a larger audience or community. This year’s recipients work in an array of disciplines, including performance, media and folk arts. 

The 2016 Leeway Transformation Award (LTA) recipients are as follows (in alphabetical order): 

    Indah Nuritasari of Center City, Literary Arts and Media Arts

    Julie Rainbow of Germantown, Media Arts

    Kavindu “Kavi” Ade of West Philadelphia, Literary Arts and Performance

    Ksenya Leah Basarab of West Philadelphia, Music

    LaTreice V. Branson of Mantua, Music and Performance

    M. Asli Dukan of West Philadelphia, Media Arts

    Marie Nyenabo of Southwest Philadelphia, Music and Folk Art

    Merián Soto of Mt. Airy, Multidisciplinary

    Misty Sol of South Philadelphia, Multidisciplinary

    Noelle Hanrahan of Frankford, Media Arts and Literary Arts

“The 2016 Transformation Awardees are all artists that represent what is at the core of Leeway’s mission: visionary, community-based cultural work,” said Sara Zia Ebrahimi, Leeway’s Program Director. “Each of these artists practice their own craft as well as mentor, teach, or bring others together. Their artistic practice is not in isolation; they understand that social change does not happen by exceptional individuals, but rather by strong communities that work together.”

A national panel of artists and cultural producers convened to review applications and work samples in this two-stage process. The 2016 panel consisted of Chicago-based Palestinian author and graphic novelist Leila Abdelrazaq; queer, trans, Filipino multimedia artist and Director of Operations and Communications at the Trans Justice Funding Project Marin Watts; New-York based, Caribbean-born choreographer Paloma McGregor; 2016 Doris Duke Artist and Creative Capital awardee Sharon Bridgforth; and poet, author and Pew Fellow Trapeta Mayson (ACG '14, LTA '07). Advocate, educator, doula, and facilitator Erme Maula facilitated the panel’s second stage. 

Applications are made available on the Leeway website, and may also be obtained by calling 215.545.4078 or emailing info@leeway.org. The next Leeway Transformation Award deadline is May 15, 2017. Interested applicants are encouraged to attend one of the many support sessions offered throughout the year, or schedule an appointment with a foundation staff member for one-on-one support. 

Press inquiries and photo requests should be directed to Denise Beek at 215.545.4078, ext. 14 or dbeek@leeway.org.

*We use the term “trans” in its most inclusive sense, as an umbrella term encompassing transsexual, transgender, genderqueer, Two-Spirit people, and more generally, anyone whose gender identity or gender expression is nonconforming and/or different from their gender assigned at birth.

Download 2016 LTA Press Release and Panelist Bios

back to news back to top


Leeway grant?

Leeway Transformation Award

The Transformation Award provides unrestricted annual awards of $15,000 to women and trans* artists and cultural producers living in greater Philadelphia who create art for social change and have done so for the past five years or more, demonstrating a long-term commitment to social change work. [read more]

deadline 05/15
Upcoming events
03/017:00 pm - 9:00 pm

FLOODGATE: First Friday Performance

Marcelline Mandeng is the selected 2018-2019 Leeway x Headlong Performance Artist-in-Residence.

[learn more]

03/024:00 pm - 6:00 pm

FLOODGATE: Artist Presentation and Workshop

Marcelline Mandeng is the selected 2018-2019 Leeway x Headlong Performing Artist-in-Residence.

[learn more]